need help with my system! bio balls? all forums are split on issue!? high nitrate

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ratbigblock396

Registered Member
Dec 29, 2010
hello, i am somewhat new to saltwater. i've been reading on here about the topic of bio balls being no good. in all the forums, its split about 50/50.(i understand the points both sides make, but i have isses of my own) i was wondering if someone can just give me a direct answer of weather or not its advisable to use them in the system i have...

-125 gallon FOWLR. tank is established. been running for about a year. all water parameters are perfect except Nitrate is about 50ppm. only about 50lbs of LR right now (will get more soon). 7 medium sized fish, few snails and crabs in there doing fine.

-wet/dry filter -overflow syphon box down to a under tank wet dry. first section is a phosphate removing mechanical filter pad. directly underneath that pad is a charcoal pad also. that drips to second stage which is bio-balls. that drips to third stage which is about an 1 1/2" layer of Sea Chem DeNitrate on about 2 lbs of sintered glass. half of the glass is constantly submerged in low flow. that then goes to a small skimmer, then back to tank.

My questions are...
1. is it worth replacing bio balls with LRR? and what would be a good way of doing so since my bio balls are already established and the LRR proboly wont be.

2. IF i am to keep the bio-balls, should i have them sitting on a poly-filter pad?

3. is that portion of sintered glass thats constantly submerged with low flow enough of an anaerobic area?

4.any other tips for the system i have?

Thank you everyone for your time

dbosman

AC Members
Dec 5, 2010
East Lansing, MI USA
You have a year old setup that is working so relax a bit.
Stress from worry causes all kinds of health problems. Your tank apparently isn't too stressed.