I want to fish!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

thebrandon

I like fish
Jan 29, 2009
Tucson, AZ
I've been a complete fishing noob my entire life. I'd like to invest in a somewhat decent rod and real. My main target is probably going to be bass and catfish because you can catch them just about anywhere here.

What rod/reel should I use? What questions can I answer for you to help you guys give me a decent suggestion? I'm not looking to spend a whole heep of money, but I want something decent to get me started in the right direction.

user_name

Senior_Member
May 23, 2010
Mass
Real Name
Cam
I don't have much experience going freshwater, but it may help if other know whether your casting from shore or on a boat.

TankHobbyist

AC Members
Mar 19, 2010
ither way ive found that a traditional open face reel is nice. if you know how to use one? the brand on those varys greatly and i have found shakspeer to probably give the best quality for the price.

rods) that depends alot on what you like ie. flexible rod (graphite). There are a few good brands with one of the best being ugly sticks.

i personaly dont like the flexible rods because with the heavier fish (in your case catfish) the rod will almost double up on itself with the weight.

TankHobbyist

AC Members
Mar 19, 2010
indeed they are my gpa got his 15 years ago and handed it off to me its still in top condition.

excuzzzeme

Stroke Survivor '05
to find out if you like the sport or not, I would have you invest in a glass rod of mediaum action, 6'6" length. For a reel, a spinning reel that will hold up to 15lb test line. For line, Stren makes a good general purpose monofilament. I would select 12lb test. Cheap fishing line will have a high reel memory as will not cast as well. Berkley also makes a good line.