Little help with chiclid tank please

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Derf

AC Members
Jan 2, 2011
I have been keeping fish for over 25 years and have never had chiclids. I have an old 29 gal. tank. It is the tall type and not long. I have been doing some research on stocking it and think I know some of the options.

I want chiclids that do not get large. Any suggestions as to such things as type, number, other fish that are compatable, etc.
Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
lots of cichlids out there....any interest you in particular?

shellies?

rams?

an angel?

rtbob

AC Members
Jul 22, 2010
Austin, TX
Real Name
Bob
German Blue Rams, Bolivian Rams and a newer species called Balloon Rams are all dwarfs and very colorful. I currently have two Balloon Rams in my 55g community tank. From what I have read on them they are less demanding (hardier) than the other two types.

Kribensis are also considered a dwarf. I have never kept them.

Then there is what some call Shellies(?). I no very little about them but I think they will do well in a tank the size of yours.

Lab_Rat

Merry Christmas!
Dec 3, 2009
Deep South
Balloon rams are actually deformed GBR, not a new species. I highly doubt they are hardier than GBR. Bolivans are quite hardy. You could do a pair of rams in the 29g and fill the rest out with community fish. Same with kribs. If you opt for an angel then a single angel centerpiece in a community tank would be best.

If you want to go with shellies, you could do a very nice colony of them in there. Start with a ton of shells, a couple makes, and several females, and you'll soon have a nice colony.

Just Prince

AC Members
Nov 2, 2007