New to cichlids help please

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

bigwater

AC Members
Feb 6, 2005
I have been keeping aquariums for some time now and decided to try a cichlid tank. Most of my experience is with planted aquariums and its time for something new. So, I figured would turn a current 75 gallon tank into a lake malawi tank. I know that the plants will have to go and larger rocks should be added.

The main concerns that I have are around stocking, I was told its best to have quite a few so they dont get territorial. Is this true? How many should I start with? Are all the lake malawi fish compatible?

Please let me know if their are and key resources I should refer to.
Any and all info would be greatly appreciated!

Jannika

MTS Survivor
Mar 17, 2010
N. California
This is from the owner of Live Fish Direct. Some of these suggestions surprise me, but I'm no expert.

African Cichlids

1. Stocking Levels VS How big is the tank in gallons

a. These notes explain how many fish can fit into the tank. For example the first line is explaining that in a 30 gallon tank 8 would be lightly stocked, 12 would be average stocked, and 15 would be densely stocked.
i. 30 gallon = 8, 12, 15
ii. 50 gallon = 15, 20, 25
iii. 75 gallon = 25, 30, 35
iv. 90 gallon = 30, 35, 40
v. 125 gallon = 35 , 45, 50
vi. 150 gallon = 40, 50, 60
vii. 250 gallon = 60, 80, 100
viii. 500 gallon = 100, 130, 175

b. Stocking levels will determine a balance between water quality and aggression
i. The lighter you stock the less you will have to change the water but the more the fish can damage each other due to aggression

ii. The heavier you stock the tank the less likely your fish are to damage each other due to aggression. They will still chase each other around all day but this method of dense stocking I have deemed “chaos theory” and it works.

3. Compatibility