Female Acei holding???

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

tcbrd

AC Members
Aug 25, 2009
I am very new to Cichlids. I just set up my 125 gal last week. In fact, it is still cycling. I noticed today the one of the Acei females mouth is swollen. There isn't any growth or fungus. She is acting somewhat normal. She begs to eat but doesn't. Then goes back into the rocks. The male was chasing the other female away big time but today it has stopped. Is she holding??? Could it be an injury or illness??? The stocking for the tank is a blood red parrot, 4 yellow labs, 3 red tigers, 3 acei, 2 azuraus, 5 demasoni and a red tail shark on clean up duty!! I'd like more but like I said this is a brand new set up. I am waiting for it to balance out.

lukeaaustin

Registered Member
Oct 28, 2011
hey mate,
definately sounds like it! if you watch her for a few minutes you will also see her 'chewing', she constantly juggles the eggs about in her mouth to make sure they stay nice and clean and fresh. you may even be able to spy the eggs if you look close enough!

good luck bud.
luke.

tcbrd

AC Members
Aug 25, 2009
well I did a google search of a female acei holding and that is what she looks like. I can't believe it. My tank is so new. Wish me luck. I will post pictures in a bit!!

tcbrd

AC Members
Aug 25, 2009
Yep I can see her "chewing" haven't seen any eggs yet. I also witnessed the male doing the "wiggle" dance in front of her.

bettalover77

AC Members
May 27, 2010
Real Name
Alex
you may want to get more demasonis, like 7 more, any less the dominant male will tear the others apart until you only have one. congrats on the acei!
good luck!

tcbrd

AC Members
Aug 25, 2009