black skirts and tumors

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Neptunius

AC Members
Dec 16, 2011
Boston, MA
Greetings,

As I just mentioned in my introduction post I'm a novice aquarist. I inherited my mom's aquarium (she's alive, just tired of keeping the aquarium) about two months ago. Shortly after they arrived two of the three black skirt tetras developed black spots. My initial research led me to believe that it might be a fungal infection. However, after treating them for a fungal infection there was no improvement and the black spots started growing into lumps. One of the two tetras with lumps has one of his eyes almost totally covered by a black lump and the other has a lump at the tip of his mouth and a few more along the body. I'm wondering a few things

1. Is there any way to treat this?
2. Are they in pain and should I therefore euthanize them?

I should also mention that another black skirt tetra in the tank looks fine as do the other fish.

Thanks!

jpappy789

Plants need meat too
Feb 18, 2007
Gainesville, FL
Real Name
Josh

Neptunius

AC Members
Dec 16, 2011
Boston, MA
answering questions

The tank is 20 gallons in size. All of the parameters are within the test strip paramenters. The aquarium is set up for freshwater. I’ve had the tank now for about two months. Therefore all the water was new when my mother brought the tank over, apart from the water that was used to transport the fish. Currently living in the tank I have one large pleco that is too large for the tank and I need to take to petco to be put up for adoption. I have three black skirt tetras (two of which have the black tumors), I have two small bottom dwelling fish, not sure what they are, five neon tetras and one Dalmatian molly. Again, I inherited all these fish with the tank. The tank is currently at 75 degrees Fahrenheit.