Berried yellow female question and another general question

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

meister1981

AC Members
Dec 29, 2011
I'm still new to shrimp and I've had a few questions over the last week and still have more but I have a berried female yellow shrimp that dropped down here eggs in the last few days. She had a ton of them but over the last 2 days she has been fanning them nonstop and this morning she barely has 4-5 left. What does this mean? Were they not fertilized? is there another explaination?

The other question I have is in regards of shrimp dying. The parameters seem great but I keep getting shrimp dying off any time I change something. I have yellow shrimp, blueberry shrimp (neocaridina palmata) and 2-3 amano. 10 Gal tank with java moss, java fern and driftwood and rocks, fluval substrate
P1000782s.jpg
PH=7
ammonia=0
Nitrite=0
Nitrate=between 0-5
GH= I keep it around 80ppm
Tank was cycled for about 1 month with 6 tetra neons everything went well
we had a hydra outbreak that we treated with panacur

Yesterday I did my water change of 20% in the tank. Water was heated to tank temp before putting it in and treated with Prime. I did add some seachem equilibrium to up the GH that I loose at the same time. This morning I checked the GH after finding a dead blueberry shrimp and it had risen to 100ppm. I suspected that this might be the reason.

I'm a little depressed with all this as we invested about $500 in the setup and we can't seem to get a break and enjoy the aquarium. We are almost ready to call it quits but we enjoy the aquarium really.