Help -- Overstocked

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Neptunius

AC Members
Dec 16, 2011
Boston, MA
As I've mentioned in past threads I'm rather new at all of this and most of the fish I got from my mom when she got tired of having an aquarium. I recently moved from a 20 gallon to a 30 gallon, which is as large as I can go for now. I've set up a planted tank, I've cycled it, and I transferred the fish from the 20 to the 30. Then the fun began.

I went out of town last week and left one of my housemates in charge of feeding the fish and taking care of the tank. The fish all did well and survived, BUT my housemates took it upon themselves to go out and buy me more fish because they felt the tank looked too empty. Fortunately they built upon the fish I already had but now I have way too many fish for a 30 gallon. I currently have:

7 black skirt tetras
8 red eye tetras
2 Orange Sword tails
4 Phantom tetras
2 Bronze Corys
3 Spotted Corys
1 pink tetra (pretty sure it was dyed)

They added to my black skirts, red eyes and added the phantom school as well as the spotted corys. Obviously the bioload is too large for my current tank, but I don't know what to do. I considered returning the black skirts and red eyes, but apart from one or two really small ones I can't tell which are the new ones and which were there before.

I've been testing the water parameters and ammonia, ph nitrites and nitrates have all remained normal.

Any thoughts on what I should do?

Jannika

MTS Survivor
Mar 17, 2010
N. California
Hmm.. I actually don't think it's badly overstocked for a 30 gallon, as long as you have good filtration. The tetras are fairly small ones except for the blackskirts.

Neptunius

AC Members
Dec 16, 2011
Boston, MA
But what about 1 inch per gallon? If all the fish grow to full size I'll have more than 30 inches of fish.

As far as Filtration I'm running 2 30 gallon aquaclear filters