Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Activity
    07-18-2014 12:15 PM
    Posts
    54

    Aqua-Tech filters

    Anyone use Aqua-Tech filters from Walmart? What media do you use? I was thinking about replacing the cartridge with sponges and Biomax for the bio-media.





  2. #2
    Sea Bunny Khemul's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Florida
    Last Activity
    11-23-2014 9:09 AM
    Posts
    1,617
    I haven't used their filters, only their powerheads. But they are basically rebranded Penguin products from Marineland. They lack bio-wheels, but otherwise whatever works on a Penguin filter should work on an Aqua-Tech.

    I don't see any reason it shouldn't work.
    “Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it.”
    - Terry Pratchett

    Freshwater - 120g, 75g, 28g.
    Saltwater - 40B



  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Real Name
    Jeffrey Smith
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Yeadon, Pennsylvania USA
    Last Activity
    01-14-2013 1:46 PM
    Posts
    523
    I would not worry about not having the bio wheel. The bio will grow on whatever media you use.
    150gal- Dovi's; 3 AC 110 P.Filters; 2 AC 110 P.Heads: Eheim 2217,2260
    180gal- Managuense; 3 AC 110 P.Filters; 2 AC 110 P.Heads; Eheim 2217,2260; Fluval FX5
    210gal- Argta,Bifsct,Fnstrtus,Maculcda,Regani,Syns,Zntus; 4 AC P.Filters; 2 AC 110 P.Heads; Eheim 2250,2262; Fluval FX5



  4. #4
    Senior Member platytudes's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Real Name
    Nicole
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Panama City, FL
    Last Activity
    03-29-2014 11:36 AM
    Posts
    3,450
    I used to use those filters, always used the AC 70 media (sponge and Biomax, sponge placed vertically on the bottom and Biomax on the top) and never had any trouble! They are good HOBs, and cheap too.



  5. #5
    Large Member Big Mike's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Real Name
    Huge Mike
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    IL
    Last Activity
    04-08-2013 3:15 AM
    Posts
    1,254
    I use them on all my tanks and have not had any problems.
    Big Mike



  6. #6
    The Fish Envy Navyscuba's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Real Name
    Angel Rivera
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Bartlett,TN
    Last Activity
    07-21-2014 12:55 AM
    Posts
    412
    I got a bunch of tanks from a friend and most of them had them and to my believe they work better than some filters that claim to be the best. I had more problems with AC's than the Aquatech's.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS Filter Upgrade Package for Marineland Penguin or Aqua Tech Filter
    By H3D in forum AC Marketplace : Buy and Sell
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 1:08 PM
  2. Is the aqua-tech power filter any good?
    By $eaba$$ in forum Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-14-2006, 1:38 PM
  3. Is the aqua-tech power filter any good?
    By $eaba$$ in forum General Freshwater
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 8:08 PM
  4. Aqua-Tech Filters
    By beachbum21984 in forum Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 12:01 PM
  5. Aqua-Tech filters?
    By Watcher74 in forum General Freshwater
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2004, 7:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •