BN Pleco Id Verification, Please

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

AaronMB

AC Members
Mar 17, 2012
Fresno, CA
Real Name
Aaron
[I've been lurking for a long time and finally have an excuse for a meaningful post!]

Though I'm new to Pleco identification, I felt confident enough to take this guy--gal?--home a few weeks ago. But as I read more and come across more pictures of the various BN Plecos, I'm a little concerned that this isn't actually a BN; it's about 2.5." What say you, Pleco-heads?

Thanks!

fish-n-chips

AC Members
Oct 29, 2008
N.E. WI
Real Name
C.J.
looks like a gibby to me(Pterygoplichthys gibbiceps)
They get to 18" plus

Oct 31, 2009
CA
Real Name
Sho
I agree with fish-n-chips. Definitely not a BN. What did the LFS label it as?

AaronMB

AC Members
Mar 17, 2012
Fresno, CA
Real Name
Aaron
Man....

The non-big box LFS labeled thing guy as a young Bushynose. Obviously, I didn't my homework well enough, or wasn't paying close enough attention: after I pointed out the "Bushynose" tank the fish-guy walked away to get the tools and I walked away to look at plants...it could have been a mislabel, or perhaps the salesman pulled from the wrong tank (their selection is huge, with many tanks, several with different plecos side-by-side). Lesson learned.

So! This little fella needs a new home. Candidly, I wear my heart on my sleeve and I'm torn between taking him back (where he could be re-sold under the same mislabel) or trying to find a local home for this soon-to-be beastie. Enable me here a little, please: what would you do?

Thanks, Fish-n-Chips, and Sora, for the info.

EDIT: the profile pictures of the Gibby do indeed match well with my pictures above. Thanks, again.

Last edited:
Oct 31, 2009
CA
Real Name
Sho