75 gal Lake Malawi Mbuna Tank, Need Some Advice on My Setup

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

revlemmon

AC Members
May 29, 2008
I'm in the planning stage for the tank and would like some advice on my setup so far.

1 Rena XP4 will be the main filter, Is one enough I should I have more filters?

1 Hydor ETH In Line Heater 300 watt. Trying to keep as much equipment out of sight.

About 100lbs. of Tahitian Moon sand.

Various Cichlid Stones

Where is a good place to get Texas Holey Rock and Slate pieces?

Should I add some power heads for more water movement or is the filter enough?

Thanks for you help.

stormywendyann

AC Members
Apr 21, 2012
Westchester, CA
Real Name
Wendy Lubianetsky
I am not an expert by any means on GPH, but the general rule of thumb is to try to move 10X Your volume. So for a 75 gallon tank, you should be moving a volume of 750 gph and the Rena 4 only moves 450 gph. I personally think you should at sum point try to add some additional filtration to your tank. I have 10 tanks upto 100 gallons and I move 10 x my volume + or - 10% in all of them. You can make up for the lack of water movement with a powerhead, but I personally do not use them (whether that is good or bad I do not know) and I have never had any problems. But, I am religious about pyfoning substrate and water changes of 50% twice a week.

You will have to find someone else who knows where to find that rock... I buy everything at my LFSs.

Wyomingite

Fish Wrangler
Oct 16, 2008
Wonderful Windy Wyoming
Real Name
Ivan
I have an Emperor 280 and an Emperor 400 on my 75 gallon mbuna tank, or just a bit over 9 times the volume of the tank in gph. IMO, it's a necessity with mbuna tanks to have higher than normal filtration rates. That's it, no power heads, and I have no problems whatsoever.