Seahorse care questions.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Nepherael

AC Members
May 11, 2012
Warsaw, IN
Real Name
Brandon
Hi guys. I'm pretty new to the hobby and I don't currently have a saltwater tank but hope to when I know I can adequately take care of it. I was hoping I could get some insight about seahorses.

I'd like to have a tank devoted to them because I know they aren't great with a lot of tank mates. I'm looking into dwarf and also the larger species. My questions are. Do they pair off and stick to their mate? If so, is it ok to keep just a male and female together with no other tank mates? If possible I would like to breed a pair, comments on that?

And for the big one. I've read they are pretty difficult to care for. Any specifics on that?

I'm sure if I really searched I could find a lot of this but I thought we could get a nice discussion going. Keep in mind also that this is down the road for me. I definitely don't plan on getting in over my head and will thoroughly research anything I try to do

greech

AC Moderators
May 13, 2009
Tallahassee, FL
Real Name
Graham
I know several people that keep SH's. They are not overly difficult to care for. Getting healthy specimens to start with is the key and I suggest you by captive bred (not the same as captive raised). If you end up going forward with them, I strongly encourage you to order your pair from here...

http://www.seahorsesource.com/

I would say that dwarf seahorses are likely the most difficult species that are fairly available in the hobby. Reason being is they eat live foods exclusively and because they are very slow, they require a small tank in order to ensure that have opportunities to catch their food. Small tank + live food = greater focus on water quality. The erectus are probably the easiest SH's to care for.