New to salt

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jeremy1

AC Members
Sep 17, 2010
So ive been keeping aquariums for several years and I think I would like to have a small saltwater tank. What I have is a 16g tank (20x10x18) that I would like to set up for this purpose. My idea so to speak is to keep corals some inverts (cleanup crew) and a couple of clownfish.I have been doing some reading but I still have some questions before I get started. What all equipment do I need to get started (non living)? Protein skimmer do I need one? I have a tank,stand,aqualife 36w(?) light,2x18w bulbs one 10000k one actinic. I have a couple of hob filters and a heater. I dont mind using a powerhead near the heater and having it in the tank (prefer to avoid a sump). So what else do I need and will this work for what I am looking to do? Thanks for any advice. Of course if one of you would like a protege to teach......lol thanks,Jeremy

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
Lighting is lacking for alot of corals. I'd do a Aquaclear110 or 70 HOB modified into a fuge. Koralia 425 pump, heater. current lighting will keep you from doing many corals if you upgrade it, I'd look into a HOB skimmer or even a decent cheap internal one(aquatic life 115 mini being the cheapest halfway decent skimmer I can think of) Other then that just the basic saltwater tools, RODI unit, tests, salt, refractometer, rock, argo sand.

XanAvaloni

AC Members
Nov 13, 2009
Jeremy just for clarification is the tank 10 inches high or 18? If it's the tall I would agree with TL above that some stronger lighting would be a good idea. If it's short though I suspect the light you have would get you along for awhile.