Stocking 40B with Pearl Gourami

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mesto

There's a FISH in the percolator!
Apr 28, 2012
Hi all,

I am a newbie and my tank, a 40B, has almost completed its cycle so soon I will be stocking my fish :clap: Here are the basics:
  • Community tank, want to have pearl gouramis as the "feature fish"
  • Heavily planted, sandy substrate
  • Fluval C3 filter plus hopefully the plants and sand bed will also help out with filtration at least some. Am committed to regular water changes but my goal is to NOT overstock to the point that I need to do 50% water changes twice a week, iykwim.
  • Also do not want to overstock to the point that the fish are stressed, aggressive, etc - some of which I know is dependant on the individual fish but still, I want a good number of fish that are happy! :)
Question 1: Should I go for 3 pearls (1M, 2F) or 4 (1M, 3F)? I don't think with that size it would be wise to get any more than 4 and 4 might be pushing it? But I have read they like to be in groups, plus I don't want any one female getting harrassed too much if possible. Would it be a good plan or just plain stupid to try 3 and see how they do, and add a 4th if its not going well?