Fresh water Deep Sand Bed

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

countryboy

AC Members
Jul 20, 2012
CNY
There has been some discussion about deep sand beds in fresh water aquariums. I have read about them in salt water using live sand. Neither have I seen them or known anyone to have a functioning DSB in fresh water aquarium. I admit to having limited knowledge in this area. It seems that if you could have a functioning dbs in fw aquariums there would be no need for any type of filter. Except for the occasional water change. Thoughts?

mesto

There's a FISH in the percolator!
Apr 28, 2012
I have one. First off, MAJOR disclaimer in that I am a newbie and this is my first tank I've ever been serious about (had them as a kid in the 80s). So I totally get that time will tell. It has been set up for 4 months. I mixed several handfuls of rinsed potting soil mud into each lb of sand, too, and then capped with a thin layer of just sand.

Essentially, after I was done cycling, I have not seen any blips in the params at all. I've had two filters fail, and moved seeded filters to other tanks while leaving the "young" filter on the DSB tank with no result. I do test liquid test kits. I just added some new fish so I have been much better about water changes lately (30%-40% every week), but last month I went on several trips and was just really busy and let maintenance slip - 20% or so WC twice that month. Aside from the plants growing out of control, no issues.