Internal Filters for 20 gallon long tanks

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Best internal filter for 20 gallon tank?

• Duetto 100

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Fluval U2

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Aqueon Quietflow Interal 30

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Whisper 20i

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters

Jayhawk

AC Members
May 12, 2001
Lawrence, KS
I've been using a Duetto 100 internal filter for several years now on my 20 gallon long tank, but I was wanting to get something with more flow or more biofilter capability. The Duetto is really 92 gph, so I bought a Fluval U2 rated at 105 gph.

So far I am not impressed with the flow rate on the Fluval U2. It definitely have more filter media than the Duetto, but I can't imagine the flow is any better than on my Duetto.

My PetSmart also has an Aqueon Quietflow 30 Internal Filter. It is rated from more like 145 gph which would be a nice increase, but the filter media looks to be on par with the Duetto and it's patented biogrid just looks like a bunch of smooth plastic bits that bacteria wouldn't find an easy purchase on. Plus, I've not heard of anyone using the internal version of Aqueon's Quietflow.

So, I'm going to try to put up a poll, but I'd also appreciate anyone's thoughts and experiences with any of these three filters. I'd always been happy with the Duetto, but succumbed to that desire for something "better".

Thanks,

Eric

Jayhawk

AC Members
May 12, 2001
Lawrence, KS
Space in my room (that extra 2-4" away from the wall makes a difference) and I cannot sleep with the sound of ANY external filter. Internals are essentially silent...even more than canister filters.

Eric

ssuchem13

Tower Tank Master
Oct 4, 2011
chicagoland
Real Name
Eric
i love internals. way better than hob looks wise and sound. ive got a whisper 30I and a 10 I on my 20 long and its super quiet and crystal clear water

mr.bigglesworth

AC Members
Feb 19, 2012
Norcal, East Bay Area