New 40breeder tank! What should I put in it???

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

BucketFish

AC Members
May 22, 2012
I just inherited a 40breeder tank and am planning on doing a freshwater setup. I have a roigh idea of what I'd like to stock, and my wife is doing the scaping this time....she's saying she wants to do a "Zen tank" with.statues, pagodas, plants (not sure if real or fake...wha
, a Buddha bubbler (lol my idea). My proposed stocking list is this:

3-5 Guoramis
1 pitbull pleco
Bala or Redtail Sharks (2 or 3? Maybe one of each?)
1 Clown Loach

I THINK this is a compatible list, but I'm new to freshwater (by the way--thanks to all of you who have helped building my biocube reef! It is beautiful still!) so I'm wondering...what would you guys do with a FW 40 gallon? We currently have a biocube 29 and a 20gallon freshwater, so I'm excited because of ALL THE ROOM I've got to work with this time!!! Aquascaping ideas, planted vs. decorated environment, stocking ideas, or whatever suggestions or comments you've got...thanks!

Sent from my SCH-I800 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

BucketFish

AC Members
May 22, 2012
Ok, don't mind ditching the Bala Sharks...what about rainbow fish? Or Angels? Lol I'm quite partial to the colorful, shiny fish in FW, since I'm kinda spoiled with my saltwater fish.

Sent from my SCH-I800 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

mesto

There's a FISH in the percolator!
Apr 28, 2012
When I researched rainbows for my 40B, I saw that only the smallest species are suitable for a 40B - like praecox, celebes, and threadfin. Others are too active. Definitely research your selections as there are quite a few species not recommended for this size tank.