100 Gallon Tank with skimmer - What else do I need?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

drbrown13

Registered Member
Oct 8, 2012
I'm new to the SW world but have been interested in getting started for a while. Just aquired a 100 gallon tank & custom cabinet with a protein skimmer, power heads, and lights. I'm wondering what else I need to purchase to get the tank set up so it can start cycling. I've been doing a lot of reading about Sump and refugiums and would like to go that route but not sure if I should do that right off the bat or not.

I've gotten a few different opinions on cycling time as well; anything from 2-6 weeks without fish. Any suggestions on that would also be greatly appreciated.

Basically I'm wanting to get started as quickly and inexpensively as possible with plans to add and upgrade over the next 6-12 months.

Thanks for your help :)

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
Its certainly alot better to have a sump and if you want to do it now is the best time before its setup to drill for it, also I believe Petco is still running the $1 sale so you can pick up a cheap tank if you want to go the DIY route for the sump/fuge.

Things you'll need off the bat, salt of course, refractometer, heater, aragonite sand, dry/live rock, SW test kits, RODI unit would be very beneficial.

Cycle time will depend on many factors, using some live rock and live sand will speed it up some, but expect it to be a few weeks before you can start safely adding any livestock.

drbrown13

Registered Member
Oct 8, 2012
Its certainly alot better to have a sump and if you want to do it now is the best time before its setup to drill for it, also I believe Petco is still running the $1 sale so you can pick up a cheap tank if you want to go the DIY route for the sump/fuge.