Cherry Shrimps??

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Mr.Salmon

AC Members
Nov 25, 2012
hey guys, i am getting RCS tommorow could you guys give me more information about them? this is my first time keeping them

Fish_Bone

AC Members
Jun 14, 2012
Central Illinois
Real Name
Samual
I don't know much but I do know you need to check your water for copper. It will kill them. Also what kinda tank mates are you planning to have or already have?

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

kj5kb

KEEPER OF CATS, FISH AND CATFISHES
Mar 1, 2007
Spring Hill Kansas SW of Kansas City
Real Name
Don
Give them reasonable water quality and low temps. They often dont need a heater indoors, they like temps cooler than most tropical fish.
That, and feed them (not much), and they will make more. I've had them for about 4 years now.

TheShrimpFarm

AC Members
Feb 3, 2011
www.theshrimpfarm.com
Mr.Salmon,
Scroll to the middle of this page: red cherry shrimp
It gives some good standards on water parameters that the shrimp do great in. It also lets you know a little on the history, breeding and care. They are quite easy to care for, so I think you'll enjoy them.

I'm not sure on the hikari shrimp cuisine. We use Hikari algae wafers. They're great.

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
doesn't hikari shrimp cuisine have copper? should i feed them that?
Some fish foods do contain copper but its usually in barely identifiable quantity, med's and fertilizers are what you need to be careful with.

Not sure how many cherry shrimp I have right now probably 100+ in one tank. I don't feed them anything special, they're in a community tank so I may throw in an extra algae wafer or shrimp pellet but I dont feed any specialized shrimp foods.

aussie pride

AC Members
Jun 21, 2010