Fin rot???

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Makail

AC Members
Dec 11, 2012
One of my goldfish, oranda, seems to show signs of fin rot, like milky looking edges of her fins and I believe I see some nibbling like look at the edges as well and I know the fish hasn't been butting on its fin. Also a day ago I thought I saw a white dot on her tiny head growth but it disappeared I guess because of the flashes . She has been swimming swiftly, rubbing against the glass, substrates, etc. my tank is still in process of cycling. I moved her from her 10 gal tank to a 5.5. Gal tank however both my tanks are in process of cycling. The small gallon I put her in just started....24 hours ago. Is there any way to treat my fish from fin rot? I've used prime and aquarium salt. I don't want to put in any other chemicals that may interrupt the cycling process...x.x

I am a newbie at caring for fishes. Please help! Thanks!

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Water changes...daily...with a fish in that small of a uncycled tank. Even the 10 is to small for the eventual size of that fish. Do you have a good liquid test kit to monitor ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

Makail

AC Members
Dec 11, 2012
Yes the fw master test kit. Ammonia I can't really tell if its .25 or 0 ppm. Nitrite is slowly starting to show this morning. I haven't don't nitrate yet.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
As long as you see what is fin rot, do daily water changes so ammonia and nitrite to not give you a reading.

Apr 2, 2002
New York