Betta Rubra w/Colorless Scales --> Death

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

prettyfishy76

AC Members
Sep 18, 2006
Austin, TX, USA
I have a 29 gallon BioCube that I have been housing my Betta Rubras in since November 2012. I have had them for 2 years. They have always been healthy, breeding and such - I have never had any health issues with them. None have even died in that time period.

I bought 4 White Cloud Mountain Minnows and 8 Bloodfin Tetras last Saturday, 03/31/13, from a LFS. I performed a 25% water change before introducing them. Since then, 2 of the WCMMs and 4 of the Red-Fin Tetras have disappeared. I can only assume the bettas killed them and "something" ate them. Not sure if bettas ate them or if ghost shrimp and cory cats disposed of their bodies. I did notice that a couple of the bettas had rather LARGE stomachs after the disappearances.

Anyways, starting on 04/03, I noticed that one of my bettas was distressed and was white about the face. Her mouth was a little beat up, too. I thought that she gotten in a fight with another fish, so I decided to check on them again this morning. Well, the next morning, 04/04, she was dead. Her body had more loss of color - no fuzz, just colorless scales. Her stomach was also bloated. Right now I am kicking myself for not taking a photo of her before I disposed of her body.