New tank setup

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

0live

128 mb tempura
Mar 14, 2008
area code 401
Hi AC! It's been a few years, but I'm back. I'm starting a new 55gal planted tank and have decided to consider myself a total newb until I get back into the swing of things.

I'm looking at filters for the 55g and was considering 2 AquaClear 30s. I believe that would be enough filtration. I was thinking 1AC70, but I don't like having just the one filter.

I'm also looking at heaters. Looking through the LFS yesterday I realized I have no idea what brands are reliable anymore, so any help is appreciated.

I've talked my boyfriend into building me a canopy, and I'm probably going to install an arduino controlled LED lighting system in there. I'll also eventually get the arduino to display ph an temp, but lighting first.

Thoughts, comments, something I've forgotten to take under consideration?

ROYWS3

AC Members
Aug 29, 2000
North-Central PA
Real Name
Roy
free media for a year from Dr's Smith and Foster and they have free shipping on orders over $49. The AC 50's are only $5 more.
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+3579+3608+3610&pcatid=3610

Any of these would work, again with the idea that getting two smaller ones is better that only one larger
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/fish-supplies/aquarium-heater/ps/c/3578/3743

I don't know LED but I will say that you need to do your research as many LED fixtures are not bright enough to support plant growth

0live

128 mb tempura
Mar 14, 2008
area code 401
I was just thinking AC50s.. Hrm.. I'll check out S&F

I've seen some REALLY neat LED DIY's as of late, and I think I might try it out... I know that LED can have low output compared to t5s but I'm looking at something more like cree xr-e's over the radio shack special.

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY