Help/Advise with False Julii/Three Stripe Cory

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ceratopian

Registered Member
Jul 2, 2013
Hi,
I'm new to the whole aquarium thing and got 3 "julii" cories from petco a couple days ago. I have a new 10 gallon partially planted tank - maybe not quite cycled? - I used caribsea's instant aquarium gravel (setup for 48 hours) and a whole bottle of tetra safe start (30 minutes before) when I put them in there. I read the API test as 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and 5 nitrate. (Am I right?) One of the smaller ones seemed to be pretty pink (the whole underside) but I thought it would perk/clear up. Now all three seem to be pretty pink, especially around the gills and appear to be breathing heavily. There's also some sort of green/gold glint on the gills. The very pink one became very lethargic and the other two are active - or panicked. I'm not sure if I ever saw the lethargic one eat and am getting very worried. Is this normal? Or disease, like velvet?
I did try to search and look around but I'm not sure. The links are to pics to be clear.
Thanks for reading.

authmal

Pseudonovice
Aug 4, 2011
Phoenix, AZ
Step one, do a water change. Right now. Come back and read more after you're done. No, really, water change. Get to it.

I would guess it's irritation from ammonia on a new tank. API liquid test kit or test strips? Test again. What are the pH (it's possible you have some hinky value that could be causing problems, but it's unlikely) and temp? What were the dosing directions on the Safe Start? I know for Seachem Stability, and I think for the API version as well, it's not a whole bottle dosing, it's an amount, and then a different amount daily for however long the dosing period is. What are you trying to feed? Did you acclimate the fish? Did you dechlorinate the water in the tank? Is the tank filtered?

ceratopian

Registered Member
Jul 2, 2013