Saltwater newbie, 120G or 36G?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

fishie111

AC Members
Feb 5, 2007
Hi all:

I'm an experienced freshwater hobbyist, and I'm interested in trying a saltwater setup. I have an empty 120G long and an empty 36G bow. I also have a 29G and a 28G bow, but I'm guessing that the two bigger ones would be better choices for this project. Any advice on which to start with? The 120G would be a real showpiece, but I'm wondering if it is a bit much to bite off in the beginning. Buying a new tank isn't out if the question if that is a better option.

Thanks for any advice!

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
I always say that the "Bigger the better", but bigger tanks have their problems too. More light, more LR, more expensive WC, ect.

If it a reef or FOWLR??

PS--If it was me, I would go with the 120.

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
120 for sure if you have the budget for the equipment, would suggest picking up a 55g for the sump. If you go with 38 and decide you want to upgrade later a lot of the equipment you got for the smaller tank will be inefficient for a larger setup.

Hr0th9ar

AC Members
Sep 8, 2012
Winton, CA
Larger tanks are more forgiving. More water = more dilution meaning less Ph/salinity swings if you make a mistake.

Sent from my mind to my fingers to my phone to the MFK servers to you

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
Pick what animals you want. That, more than anything else, will drive what will make you happy. Yes, a 120 is going to cost more to setup, but if you want larger fish, or lots of fish, it's your only option. I don't think a 120 is really a huge tank, tbh. A smaller tank, if setup and stocked properly, won't be as much effort, just more frequent attention.

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site