Fish dying...please help. Stumped.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Zorcher

Registered Member
Jan 9, 2014
I have had a very healthy 38 gallon tank set up for about a year, but I am new to the hobby. In the past week I have had two dwarf gouramis, one swordtail, and one platy all die. There is no sign of illness or disease that I can see, and my basic water parameters have remained unchanged. What am I missing, and what should I do??

38 g tank
0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 5ppm nitrates, 8.0 pH (same readings since setting up tank)
aqueon 55 HOB filter
25% water change per week.

fish remaining: 1 angel, 5 minor tetras, 3 Cory cats, 1 silver dollar, 1 ram

ps: I understand that I may have been slightly overstocked, but my ammonia and nitrites have not changed and I do not believe this to be the problem.

huapala

AC Members
Jul 25, 2013
Ke Aupuni Hawaii, Hawaiian Kingdom
Real Name
Huapala
Your tank is was overstocked for its size and provided filtration (Aqueon HOB 55/75?). Silver dollars can reach 6 inches in length and the same with fresh water angels. Are you injecting oxygen? Do you have plants? Are you injecting CO2? What test kit are you using? Sword tail and platy are both Poecilia species that do best in high pH and/or brackish conditions. What were/are the tank's water temps? What is the tank's dimensions? I would work on balancing your stock out and answering the questions I asked. Perhaps someone here can help you better than myself.
p.s. Schooling/shoaling fish (like cory cats, tetras, silver dollars) enjoy groups of 6 or more. If I were you I would remove both the silver dollar and the angel, then you can add more cats and more tetras and keep the ram as your center piece.

Zorcher

Registered Member
Jan 9, 2014
I understand the stocking mistake of the silver dollar. Noob mistake.

I have a good amount of live plants (swords and ferns).