Nano Planted Tank (around 7 gallons) Strange rhombus shaped tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

kumar420

AC Members
Feb 5, 2014
Hey guys,

As I have stated in my other thread I have been keeping fish for a few years, but have only really had planted community tanks. I picked up a 7 gallon tank in malaysia (30 ringitt or ten dollars- precisely why I lugged it all the way here) and had it set up at my old house with a few white clouds and pygmy cories.

Part of the issue I'm having is the shape of the tank- it did not come with a light and a standard hood just isn't going to fit. I could build myself a custom lid but would still have to face the problem of finding a fluorescent hood light that is less than 12", and at the moment I also do not have the time or the funds to do so. So I came up with some alternatives:
A) Fluorescent light that clips on to the side of the tank, perhaps 7-10W
B) Gooseneck fluorescent desk lamp appropriately positioned above the hole in the lid (lid is a thin hard plastic sheet with a hole in it)
C) Screw the plants and go with a submersible LED and fake plants

So this tank has been running for a couple of weeks- I did a water change at the end of the first and second weeks.
I realize I still have a week or two to go before it is fully cycled but wanted to get some information so I know what I can and can't do with it.

Specs:
7 Gallon tank (looks like half a hexagon from the top)
Tetra Whisper 10i internal filter
25 watt heater
Topfin mini air pump and airstone

I was thinking of a densely planted tank with some nano-rasboras, preferably Pheonix or chilli rasboras (between 5 and 6) and maybe 3-4 pygmy corydoras.

Any opinions or advice are welcome

kumar420

AC Members
Feb 5, 2014