High mortality rate in new tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

joepeet65

Registered Member
Feb 3, 2014
Hello all,

I have a recent tank setup (36-gallon bow front) that is plagued with non-surviving fish. My first batch was two blue gouramis, two black tetras, two ruby barbs and two tiger barbs. One of the blues died the day after being introduced, but it was doing the little back-and-forth dance which I have since concluded was flukes. None of the other fish displayed that symptom but all died within 5 days, the other blue being the last to go.

I have an API master test kit which showed trace ammonia (.25) after the first couple of fish died, which I expected since the nitrogen cycle had just started, but no nitrites or nitrates and only a slightly high pH. I also had the water tested by my LFS to confirm that my water appeared fine, and even got a water test kit from Home Depot to test my tap water for metals and hardness. The results showed no metals and slight softness. My tap water is from a well but I put conditioner in it before adding to the tank to be on the safe side. I have been doing 25-30% water changes every 3-4 days to keep the chemistry good, and the ammonia level has stayed low and is now showing traces of nitrites, so I know the first stage of the cycle is under way. it's been a little over two weeks since the tank was set up. I've been using a brand new bucket to add water, have a non-smoking house and have not been using any chemicals or detergents anywhere near the tank or in the air.