Moving a sword plant..

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
Hi all, I've got a sword in my 10g that was a dreaded clear plastic tube Petsmart purchase about a year ago and sold as an "Amazon Sword". It's outgrowing my 10g. Bad planning on my part!

I have no experience with this type of plant and was thinking about re-homing it in my 55g community tank that's setup for, and contains plants.

It would be going from FloraMax substrate to ordinary gravel, that I would add root tabs to as needed, etc.

Is it just a matter of brushing as much substrate away as possible and carefully uprooting the bugger?

Thanks.

This pic is a few months old:

ktrom13

AC Members
Feb 4, 2013
boston
Real Name
Kyle
I removed a sword from my 10g a few months ago that had eco complete in it amd i ended up with a very cloudy tank. Took about 2 days to settle but since then my sword has grown quite a bit.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
The length and amount of root structure may well surprise you too, But it's not going to get any easier the more you put it off.. just take your time and +1 to the root tabs too.

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
Moved it. Man you weren't kidding Doug. The root structure basically spanned the entire 10g bottom. I was gentle as possible and still destroyed the 10g. It's a cloud of brown right now. All the plants and decor got jostled, but is going to look better when it settles (I think!).

I kind of centered the sword towards the rear of the 55. This is what the 55 looked like about a month ago..

Byron Amazonas

AC Members
Jul 22, 2013
Pitt Meadows (within Greater Vancouver, BC) Canada
Real Name
Byron