Opinions: Small planted tank equipment

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
Jun 25, 2007
I have been running a 10 gallon planted tank for about 5 years, and I'd like to upgrade from the equipment I have. My goal would be to plant some faster-growing plants to out-compete the diatoms and algae.

I haven't been able to find a light strip/hood that works on my current basic tank. I'm happy to buy an all-in-one setup, or buy tank & lights separately, but I have been having troubling identifying setups that are good for freshwater; when I look at Drs. F&S, I see lots of discussion about the reefkeeping properties of a particular setup, not the freshwater plant aspects.

My LFS is AquaForest in San Francisco -- a great place, but they don't sell tanks/hoods/lighting.

If you have recommendations to share, please do!

Current setup:
* basic 10 gallon glass tank from Petco
* basic cheap incandescent hood from Petco, with 2 screw-in CFLs instead of incandescents
* AquaClear HOB filter
* submersible aluminum heater -- I like this piece
* EcoComplete substrate, about 1.5" deep (I'm willing to add more)

Inhabitants:
6 cardinal tetras
1 honey dwarf gourami
2 otocinclus
bunch of red cherry shrimp

Plants:
* lots of anubias -- they grow great under my crappy light
* dwarf Sagitaria -- which because of my crappy light, grows long and tall and stringy. I'd prefer it to look like ground coveer

Neatfish

AC Members
May 1, 2012
My Bat Cave somwhere in TX
Your main problem is that hood light it's worthless. What are you trying to plant? You can get a finnex fugeray led light. Maybe get a nano co2 kit. Upgrade your light we be the first thing.

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
Your main problem is that hood light it's worthless. What are you trying to plant? You can get a finnex fugeray led light. Maybe get a nano co2 kit. Upgrade your light we be the first thing.