Super shrimp?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

FishFanMan

AC Members
Jun 13, 2013
Naperville, IL

SirMuffin

AC Members
Sep 11, 2011
I have no experience with those but I would be very suspicious /not believe that they never need water changes so I don't know how well I would trust the information. Also, he doesn't give a species name.

ZorroNet

AC Members
Sep 21, 2013
Paxton, FL
flfarmersmarket.com
Real Name
Dave
The claims are pretty unsubstantiated, but it's possible they are pretty tough. Ask Huapala... He actually lives in Hawaii and is very knowledgable.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

ManEatingShrimp

AC Members
Jan 28, 2012
Opae Ula shrimp are not really rare, but are known for being very hardy. They are the shrimp that are put in those ecocubes and originally come from the tidal pools of Hawaii. I have no experience with them, but from what I have read they can survive a wide variety of water conditions and are a very interesting and unique shrimp. I don't know that they actually live 20 years and I would still change their water every so often, but they are definitely a low maintenance shrimp. For $30 I would definitely try them out if I had an extra tank.

lozt

AC Members
Jun 30, 2012
I wonder if there would be any negative effects if put in a tank with RCS.

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
Shouldnt have any problems with keeping them with RCS as long they are acclimated well or already being kept in FW, they're not aggressive and can't interbreed.

I've thought about trying to breed them as feeders for SW since they'd live longer in the SW and should be more healthy eating then the RCS I use now

ktrom13

AC Members
Feb 4, 2013
boston
Real Name
Kyle
I saw a similar posting in the Boston area too. But for a freshwater prawn that gets a supposed 12inches+.

If you have a spare tank and would like to try them out i say go for it.