Need some advice

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Rafini

AC Members
Jun 24, 2012
Hey guys I have a 225 gallon aquarium 5x3x2 and Currently only have a large amazon sword plant which is doing very well, and two smaller pieces of java fern that seem to equally be doing well.
I am extremely new to planted tanks so I want to stick to the basic species like Anubis, swords, Vallis etc.
And I have a few questions

Firstly, What would be some good species that have the same kind of light requirements?
Its worthy to note that when I put in a pink colored small plant the Diamond tetra group I had kept picking at it and ripping it apart, I am sure its the color cause everything else gets left alone by everyone, and diamonds are plant friendly. My guess is they mistook it for the flake I feed them.

Secondly, I have 3 48" bulbs on the tank right now, One color max, one regular white, and then one thats just a random bulb I had lying around. I currently run about 8 hours of sunlight on the tank and my plants seem to be doing well.
I am awaiting the delivery of a finnex plant plus 48" fixture that I will run with probably the colormax and white bulb also. My tank is 3' wide so honestly you need a lot to light it up.

My question is, with the plant suggestions and the fact that I`ll have a Finnex plant plus, Which is basically an LED that emits the true 660nm spectrum ideal for photosynthesis. So essentially it is perfect because I wanted to switch to LED anyway but this way I can still grow undemanding plants. I can get them for just over $100 so its a killer deal.

My biggest question is, as a complete noob.
How many hours a day should I give my plants light for?