kids these days

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

sumthin fishy

I eat spam
Aug 22, 2005
central california
Real Name
mike
It has been years since I had a fish tank. Now I am back at it. The addiction is spreading, as my wife, never a fishkeeper, is now asking me when we will set up the 30 gallon Ive been sitting on for 7 years.

That's not the point really, what I really wanted to talk about is something my mom did for me. She knows that I like fish, and I like to read. She also is retired and loves to go to thrift stores. I mean, she got me a martin sigma guitar in darn near perfect condition for $20 with a case, a ($3000 new)upright electric bass for $5, A trumpet for $5, a clarinet for $20 valued at $300(after a $100 service). She is cool like that. So when she got me book 3 of the x-wing series and said there were some "sicklit" book too, I was excited.

The first book I found in the bag was not a cichlid book, but titled "light in the aquarium" by Rolf Kubler(umlaut over the U, dont know how to make it)However I give props to mom, since the cover is a picture of an apistogramma (what may be cacatoides but might be some other species). copyright 1968. We get the mention here of the UGF causing "hot foot" in aquatic plants. It talks of using what is now archaic photography equipment in measuring light, talks about fluorescent light as a new age technology. In fact, it talks as if, when you get an aquarium, live plants are a part of it, as if artificial plants are not an option.

Now what really made me want to tell you about these books was the second fish book mom bought "4th edition african cichlids of lakes malawi and tanganyika" by Dr herbert r. axelrod and warren e. burgess. copyright 1972.