New 29 Gallon Startup Help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Alonergan11

AC Members
Aug 7, 2014
Hello,

I am starting a 29 gallon planted aquarium from scratch. I have the tank, filter (Aquaclear 50), light (Finnex Fugeray Planted+), and a heater. I also have a large swordand two small swords being kept in a big container in dechlorinated water under the light until I have my tank up. I am fairly new at this, but I have had a 5 gallon Fluval tank for a year or two and wanted to upgrade. I do have a lot of knowledge about the Nitrogen cycle and that I have to cycle my tank correctly to ensure a stable ecosystem. I am planning to have sand as my substrate because I want to house a couple Cories, but no Flourite or eco-complete because I'm on a budget. I have been looking at the Black Diamond Sand because I would prefer black, but I will go with other natural colors if I have to. If you could give any insight on the substrate and how to supplement the plants(I have Flourish Excel but I'm not sure thats enough) it would be a huge help. My second question is how to properly cycle a tank quickly with or without using biological boosters, eg. Tetra Safestart. Any help on that would be great. Lastly it would be awesome if anyone could give me some ideas as to colorful fish to stock the tank with, for I am looking at Angelfish but I also want a species that has more vivid colors.

Thanks so much for anyone's help,

Aidan

Byron Amazonas

AC Members
Jul 22, 2013
Pitt Meadows (within Greater Vancouver, BC) Canada
Real Name
Byron
You may be able to close the other two threads (you have one in the newbie section too on this same topic), or PM a moderator to close them. Or add a post to each with a link to this thread. Keeping the same topic in one thread is better for you and others as everything is in one place.