Plants not doing well. Help?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Alonergan11

AC Members
Aug 7, 2014
Hello,
Please bear with these questions as I am a noob. :)

I have a 29 gallon "low tech" planted tank, (not sure if i'm using the term correctly - I have no CO2 system only flourish excel-) and my plants don't seem to be doing too well. I have an aquaclear 50 and a finnex fugeray planted+ Link here. I use a timer with a 10 hr/day cycle. I have a sloped sand bed. My readings are Ammonia 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrate is 20+ (I am doing water change tomorrow) and ph is around 7.3. The tank has been set up for over a month now and the cycle had finished about 4 days ago. I have 6 amano shrimp and 2 cory cats in the tank right now and planning to stock more. Now, enough of the setup, on to the plants. The plants don't seem to be thriving(they have been in the tank for about 1-2 weeks). They have brown spots on them and have hair-like algae. The tips of the plants are doing fairly well(maybe my light is not good enough?). The Sword has multiple spots(algae?). And one plant is doing very well and seems to be thriving. Should I be using a better fertilizer? Should I invest in a CO2 system, and if so which one? Any tips on making them green and lush like in other peoples tanks? This is also off topic, but my aquarium has a slight cloudiness and has microscopic particles in the water(like dust), and I cannot seem to make the water perfectly clear. I put in a new carbon filter(the old was about a month old). Any tips?

Thanks a lot for your time! any help is appreciated!

PICTURES
|
|
|
|
|
V

IMG_0193.JPGIMG_0202.JPGIMG_0201.JPGIMG_0200.JPGIMG_0199.JPGIMG_0198.JPGIMG_0197.JPGIMG_0196.JPGIMG_0195.JPGIMG_0194.JPGIMG_0203.JPG

IMG_0193.JPG IMG_0194.JPG IMG_0195.JPG IMG_0196.JPG IMG_0197.JPG IMG_0198.JPG IMG_0199.JPG IMG_0200.JPG IMG_0201.JPG IMG_0202.JPG IMG_0203.JPG

FishFanMan

AC Members