Stocking question (2 x 10g)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

BsLuFs

Hobbyist
Sep 10, 2014
College in New Hampshire, Home in Maine
Real Name
Luke
Hey yo! I've got an extra ten gallon back at home that I'll be able to set up in about a month. I know my tank right now is overstocked and I'm doing my best to keep up with more frequent water changes-- I'm still a newbie and have given into the pressures of buying one too many fish from the pet store. Here's what I'm planning on doing as of right now:

First 10g:

5 pygmy cories
4 otocinclus
1 ADF

Second 10g:
1 betta
4 cardinal tetras
2 male guppies

I might re-home some of the otocinclus-- I had one in there originally and got three more for free at an event at my LFS. But what else, if anything, could I fit into these tanks? Both will be planted with java fern and willow moss most likely, if that counts for anything. I'd love to add one or two honey gouramis to the first setup, and maybe a kuhli loach to the second. Please let me know what you guys think!

RisiganL.

AC Members
Feb 24, 2010
Raleigh, NC
Real Name
Risigan Logendran
First Tank: No issues
Second: Some Possible problems

Firstly, a school of 4 cardinal tetras is pretty small. They really are a schooling fish, and 6+ is recommended. The bigger issue I see is with the betta and male guppies. Betta's aren't overly aggressive with other fish (usually) but a male guppy, with its long fins and all, could easily trigger a betta to become aggressive. I'd remove the betta and add some more cardinals.

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
First Tank: No issues
Second: Some Possible problems