Advice for the future.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

BsLuFs

Hobbyist
Sep 10, 2014
College in New Hampshire, Home in Maine
Real Name
Luke
All right. So far since getting into the hobby last summer, I've kept only small tanks. And yes, they're great fun and all but stocking is so limited and I would love nothing more than to get a bigger tank.

The problem is I'm a college student-- every 2-4 months I have to move my tanks between home and campus for break and all. It takes 4 or 5 hours each time, and while this isn't that big of an ordeal for my 10G and 5.5G, I fear it would be a far greater task to move anything much bigger. So...I'm just going to go ahead and start asking questions. Sorry for the hastiness of this, I'm writing in between classes right now.

Ideally, I'd either have a 30B, 40B or 55G and start out with 2 or 3 N brichardi. I'd get the tank near the beginning of the summer to start cycling it an probably wouldn't actually get the fish until I'm back at college in August. My first question is what would be the best way to cycle it? So far I've only done fishy cycling with hardy fish in small tanks, but I don't know how different it is for bigger tanks. Also, how would I go about moving the tank whilst keeping the beneficial bacteria alive? Also, just a few more general questions-- how many rocks would you use for a 55 gallon cichlid and how much would they weigh (my dad just got a 100G that came with a bunch of slate that he's not using but I know nothing about it), and would I be able to put the stand directly on top of my desk/dresser or would it be advisable to get a wooden or metal stand?