Setting up a 12 gallon Nano Cube

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Betty Betta

AC Members
Apr 30, 2004
Los Angeles
Visit site
Hey everybody. I'm a newbie with some questions on stocking and setting up a 12 gallon JBJ Nano Cube. http://www.jbjlighting.com/sys_nanocube.html
I plan to do a fishless cycle and add plants.

Here is the fish selection I've come up with:

1 Male Betta
3+ Dwarf Cories
6+ Neon or Cardinal Tetra
? Amano/Cherry/Tiger Shrimp

Exactly how many of each is appropriate? Should I switch out the Tetras for something else? Note that some of the space of the 12 gallons is for the built in filtration system.

What substrate do you suggest? I'll have Cories so I want something that won't hurt them, and I also want to plant some things in there, but I also want something relatively easy to maintain. I'd also like a dark color to better show off the colors of the Betta and the Tetras.

Thanks for the advice
Betty Betta

Last edited:

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
Might be a bit on the heavily stocked side. I'd probably go with the neons, if you can find healthy stock, simpy because the cardinals get a bit larger. I'd probably go with just a betta and 6-7 pygmy cories instead. If you have that many fish, you'll need to be very good about maintenance, and I'd encourage you to have it heavily planted as well.

For substrate--sand is my favorite. Variety of colors, easy to clean, and easy to mix with fluorite/etc for a good, rich plant substrate.

Betty Betta

AC Members
Apr 30, 2004
Los Angeles
Visit site
mmmmm 'kay. how about I make the shrimp the cleanup crew and ditch the Cories for Neon Tetras.

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila