Betta / Minibow Experiences

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

kikuchiyo

Shogun
May 9, 2004
Atlanta, GA
Visit site
I was originally going to post this to the FW products/DIY forum, but since this became less a review and more a collection of experiences/guide, I'm posting it here. The mods should feel free to move it if they deem necessary. Much thanks to the old hands here and on Myfishtank.net (where I'll post to if the mods over there would like this post); old posts and my own new troubles made up a lot of my experiences and both sites were a major help.

I recently purchased a 2.5 Minibow aquarium kit to house a single male betta. It seems like a lot of people want to do similar setups and so I'm posting a little rumination on my experiences so far. Standard disclaimer: I'm a newb of the highest caliber and my word certainly isn't the gospel. Take everything with a grain of salt. I'm still muddling my way through.

First some justification: I got a 2.5 because I am only interested in housing a single male betta (a bigger tank is a huge temptation for me to add more fish) and because the tank will be housed primarily in my dorm, but will have to return either yearly or even on a semester basis to my home about an hour away; thus a light tank that can be placed in a cooler is necessary. Keep in mind, despite the packaging claims, not much can be kept in such a small aquarium: maybe one male guppy or one male or female betta. Some discussion recently on myfishtank.net said both kilifish and dwarf gouramis might work in the tank, I don't think I'd recommended them, especially for inexperienced keepers. Other than that, shrimp, african dwarf frogs, or snails seem likely candiates for housing in the tank, but not with fish (for me shrimp wouldn't seem to like the high temp, ADFs are an extra hassle for me moving the tank, and snails will quickly sour the water if they die).