The ultimate water testing

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

iceveins

AC Members
May 13, 2004
Visit site
I wouldnt say I'm a seasoned veteran fish owner, but through trial and error I seem to be getting better...At least I thought.

Now, maybe someone can point out what I may be overlooking...

Hadn't had a fish fatality in a year...I only had 2 angels in the tank for the past year. Then I added some new fish to the tank last week. Now its, 2 angels, 2 tetras, one little shark and one Pleco.

Yesterday, the Pleco died. Now for some reason I think that there may be some more to follow. Now heres the specs on my tank and my procedures:

30 gallon tank
304 Fluval Filter, changed filter media about 2 weeks ago.
PH balance is good
Ammonia is zero.
Nitrites are zero.
Temperature is 78 degrees.
Have an air stone in the tank.
Feed the fish twice daily.
Frequent water changes.

That is all I have tested the water for lately. Now what else may I need to keep in account when testing water? Should I get a nitrate and phosphate testing kit? I'm trying to get this thing down pat, but I am turning in to skeptic after doing everything I know to keep the water quality high. It appears that whenever I add new fish they die. My fish dont appear to flourish either, seems like there is something I'm missing in the water. If anyone can advise I would appreciate it.

Traci

AC Members
Jun 27, 2003
Austin, Texas
Visit site
Are you acclimating them? Oh, nevermind it was a couple of weeks before the pleco died. Nitrate measurements would be helpful, but I wouldn't expect them to be through the roof if your ammonia is at zero.

Did you change the filter media entirely? Could you have unknowingly caused a spike in the cycle?