Long Winded Newbie w/ Questions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

abwahl

Registered Member
May 26, 2004
Illinois
Visit site
Hello. I am a newbie to this board and a newbie to the world of fish wrangling. I must say, right from the start, this site appears to be a wonderful resource and I'm so glad I found all of you.

I went to a carnival with my 6 year old daughter a while back. I promised her she could play one game. As it started to rain and we were heading for the exit, she reminded me of this promise as we approached the Win a Fish booth. I paid the $1 for the 8 balls thinking that there was no way she'd win. Sure enough...plop...YOU WIN. What do you win? A lesson in death. Congratulations! Our funeral was brief, but tearful, as "Put" was lowered into the earth the following rainy afternoon.

On our way home we went to our town's little mini Walmart and found meager beginnings of a home & some Betta food (lol..now I know what that means). I wanted to wait until the next day when I'd be in the larger town nearby to get what we'd really need. I didn't think fish could be happy in a bowl of water with nothing else, but I didn't even get 24 hours. I let the water sit out for a while, but not nearly long enough to declorinate. I know why he died now...well at least know of another 30 reasons he could have died. It would have been a miracle for him to survive. I am just happy that he died in the adoration of a little girl who will morn him unlike the other poor little guys.