Brown stuff on plant leaves

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

pitufo

AC Members
Jul 5, 2004
Vancouver b.c.
Visit site
Hi I am brand new to fishkeeping, I have a 33 Gal. Hagen starter kit and i put an undergravel filter with powerhead in it. The tank has been running for about 2-3 weeks and last week we bought a few plants. I wish I could tell you what kind they are. When we bought them they had what I thought was brown spots on the leaves but they have been getting bigger over the last week. I removed a leaf to take a closer look and I found that the brown spots rub off easily. Is this algae? Is it harmful? What should I do? P.S. the patches are only on the top of the leaves.

jamjarjames

AC Members
May 31, 2004
Peterborough, UK
Visit site
yep sounds like algae, it comes in so many colours so don't be surprised if you see wierd looking stuff. The reason they are only growing on the top is because that is where the light is. Read the algae busting tips on this page for ideas.

pitufo

AC Members
Jul 5, 2004
Vancouver b.c.
Visit site
Thanks! I will see if those algae eaters are compatible with my fish I have so far. (4 Zebra Danios, 3 small Angelfish and 2 Rainbowfish.) I was hoping to get a couple of sharks and some more danios and some catfish but I don't want to get too excited and overcrowd the tank. What other kinds of fish eat algae?

happychem

redorkulated
Dec 9, 2003
Halifax, NS
Visit site
You were told wrong buddy! ;)

Ever since I added snails to my aquariums, I'll never go back. They only multiply based on how dirty your tank is, i.e. how much food is available. They really help to keep things clean by eating algae, fish wastes, uneaten food.

Snails are the ultimate scavenger for aquaria because, IMO, they're a little lower on the life complexity scale than fish, so they make use of stuff that even scavenger fish won't touch, like fish wastes.