Bubble tip anenome has lost it's bubble

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

jack

Registered Member
I am fairly new to marine tanks (one year). I have a 40 gallon tank with live rock, 2 anenomes, 5 fish and 3 shrimps. The bubble tip anenome has lotst it's bubble look tentacles, they are now long and skinny. I have a protein skimmer and all water tests are OK. I have heard something about the type of lighting they need, at the present time I have one marine glow and one life glow which are only 2 weeks old and seem to be trowing anough light into the tank. Any ideas??????? :confused:
The anenomes do eat once a week, I feed them pieces of squid. He is in one spot hasn't moved in months and seems happy to be there at the bottom of the tank. He has gotten a little smaller in size since I got him. Any help would be apprciated.
Jack.

Dewey115

AC Members
May 15, 2004
Omaha, NE
Visit site
Not sure how much I can help, but from my understanding they will lose their bulb when they dont have enough light. I dont know if this is the case though because I would guess that he would try to be up near the surface if he doesn't have enough light. How much light do you have (type, watts, etc...) I'm sure even if I cant help, others will ask you the same thing.

Rick

Max

It's me
Jan 26, 2004
Mars
Visit site
That's probably not enough ligh I'd try to at least double it. You want at the very least 2 wats per gallon ,"4 is better but it can move higher". Has it been moving around a lot ? What color is it? I'd try increasing my light and see how it does. Also it will loose it's bubbles as it gets older it should grow pretty fast under the right conditions.
hth
Chris

Cearbhaill

Reads the Gribble Report
Mar 22, 2003
South Florida USA
Visit site