New tank inhabitants

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

K-Dubbs

AC Members
Oct 4, 2004
Hi, I'm new to saltwater tanks (hence newbie forum)
I'm 17 yrs from WI
I work at petworld in the fish/reptile room, but i am still new to fish
I know the basics, but I just recently started my new tank

It is a 46 gal bow front
Right now I am changing the canister filter (Cascade 1000) to a wet/dry filter
I have crushed coral for the substrate
I have about 15 lbs of live rock and about 20 lbs of live dry base rock
I have 36" coral sun and reef sun bulb by ESU
I also have 3 damsels to start the cycling (been in there for about 1 week)
After the cycling, the damsels are going back to the store, and I am contemplating on what inhabitants to put in the tank.

I have access to most fish because I work at the Petstore and I can order almost anything that we don't currently have.

I also have time to watch the fish b4 i bring them home to make sure they are eating good and are good speceimins.

My dad is funding/helping with the tank, and he wants to get some variety, inverts, corals, anemones, and "pretty fish".

While i realize this might not be possible... I am taking into consideration what he wants, is there any way to acchieve this?

I know each of the 3 groups has specific needs, but at least if i could get one or two from one group and the rest from the 3rd group that would be ok.

Mabey cleaner shrip, some ritteri anemones ect...

I also was wondering how many fish would be a good number for a reef tank I know with such a small tank I will have to keep it low... just how low I don't know.

Some fish I was looking into:
Coral Beauty
Lemonpeel Angel
Flame Angel
a few others...

I personally want some color in the tank (who dosen't?)

anyways, suggestions, tips ect. thanx

Gealcath

AC Members
Nov 9, 2003
Visit site