(Ich and Cichs) Really need some help from patient people.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

andy5268

AC Members
Jun 6, 2001
Basking Ridge, NJ
Hi I’m Andy, been off the board for a while, other interests (cars) are taking I’m my message board time these days… but I do know where to turn for help and find good people.

I’ve been keeping fish for around 7 years now, I have 110 gallon tank with mainly passive large cichlids, many of them from Jeff Rapps so their names escape me except to say again they are docile kind of like sevrums. I’ve had this tank up for years and hardly ever lose a fish; lately I seem to be battling ich and other similar diseases. Any new fish I buy comes up with the symptoms in a day or so and usually takes out a clown loach or two some of which are very mature. I treat the ich by raising the temp and when it’s bad adding rid ich but only a half of a dose to protect the clowns.

I do water changes every two weeks, one with a gravel siphon the next just 30% of the water (any more and the tank gets cloudy like I’m taking out too much beneficial bacteria). All water parameters are OK from my master test kit and I have a Fluval 204 and 404 doing the filtering, the 204 maybe getting a bit tired (it’s 4 years old) so I’m replacing it with a new 404, air is via two Rena air 400s (biggest they make) hooked up to a bubble wall that runs the length of the tank. PH is at a pretty steady 7.2, tank is not over crowded but likely close to it’s limit and my fish are fed cich pellets, frozen blood worms and dried krill once a day.

I’m looking for people to really focus in on this, not just easy answers, I’ve likely lost close to $350 in stock over the last few months and all of my clowns are gone having to Secom from some slimy decease that turn them dark with in a day rapid breathing and then boom gone in 24 hours.