petsmart v/s jeff rapps

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

palehorse78

not your average fishman
Sep 14, 2002
Atlanta
is it safe to say the serious aquarist wont buy fish from petsmart.what are the pros and cons? of them both.

vfrex

AC Members
Feb 26, 2002
New Jersey
Theres a minimum order from jeff rapps. Jeff rapps probably won't sell you guppies.

Cons of shopping at petsmart: less flexibility, probably less rare stock, probably less quality, although that depends mostly on the individual petsmart.

Marcus

AC Members
Oct 14, 1998
WVC, UT, USA
I consider myself a very serious hobbyist. I've been doing this gig for over 25 years and currently have over 30 tanks. :D

Would I buy fish from Petsmart? Absolutely! If they have what I want...

I bought a very nice pair of 'Aquidens' sp. 'Goldsaum' from petsmart about 2 years ago. Only $8.99 ea. for 3" fish. A nice fish at a good price. Color was excellent as well. Not to mentioned I saved $50 in shipping!!

Besides the usual common fare, I have from time to time, seen some nice 'less than common' cichlids. Geo. brasiliensis, N. salvini, V. maculicauda & Cr. sp. 'Belly Crawler' to name a few.

The question you have to ask yourself is, 'Will I be happy with common cichlids?' Does Pestmart have what you want? If you simply want a JD or Firemouth I would not hesitate to buy one from Petsmart.

palehorse78

not your average fishman
Sep 14, 2002
Atlanta
i am hypnotized by the beauty of the midas is that considred common i bought a i think a midas from petsmart ppl on this forum say its prolly a crossbreed so iam think jeff rapps will be the way to go.what you think

morleyz

This space for rent
Sep 26, 2002
Illinois
www.allaquatic.com
I've had my best luck searching for a local breeder. Since Atlanta's a pretty big city, I'd bet you could find one nearby. They tend to have better quality fish, larger sizes, and cheaper...plus NO shipping.