tank upgrade questions: cycling, eco-complete, load, and compatibility

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ambrosiamonkey

Doing the Community Thing
Dec 9, 2004
Berkeley, California
Hi! I'm new here, and even though I've been keeping a 12 gallon tank for three years, I'm posting in the newbie section, because it's been three years since I set up a new tank, and I'm sure there's new stuff to know.

I've just moved into a bigger place suited for a larger tank, and I've ordered a 50 gallon tank from Dr. Foster and Smith. ( this is the tank) I'm going to move the current occupants of my 12 gallon tank into the 50 gallon and use the 12 for quarantine purposes. (Currently I just have 2 zebra danio, 2 small clown loaches, and 1 mystery algae eater that I have yet to identify. The LFS told me it was a pleco, but it hasn't grown much in three years, and is sort of a plain reddish sand color.)

I've been reading about fishless cycling, but I understand from what I've read that fishless cycling doesn't work with planted tanks? Since I have an active tank going, I figure I can get a good supply of bacteria from my existing filter media, and I am thinking about using Eco-complete for the substrate, so between the two I figure cycling shouldn't be too much of an issue. I am planning a fairly densely planted tank, and it seems so much easier to do the aquascaping before there are any fish in the tank, so I'd like to start with plants- some Jungle Val, and java fern, with a couple of pieces of driftwood, and probably some dwarf saggitaria.

My questions:

1. Is eco-complete really as good as I hear? How many bags would I need to get 3.5 to 4 inches of substrate in a 36x15 tank? I called Drs. F&S and they said that I would need 50 pounds, or 2.5 bags, but googling I found a website calculator that said I would need 90 pounds of eco-complete! (ouch, that gets expensive.)