"Major" Cleaning Frequency with Freshwater Tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Orangecoke

Registered Member
Jan 22, 2005
Hi guys,

Ultra-newbie here!

I'm interested in starting an aquarium - but my wife thinks (supposedly from experience in her childhood) that you frequently have to remove ALL the fish, ALL The water, change all the rocks, clean the tank thoroughly and that it's basically a huge pain to do so (monthly?).

But I bought an aquarium book, and the impression I'm getting is that you simply do a "partial water changeout" (30%) each week and keep your filter system clean etc. No major transfusion of fish and rocks etc.

What's the reality? I'm considering a ~ 55 gallon tank.

best Regards

Jarrett

Maj0rFiSh

L33t 5p34k m0f0!!11one
Jan 14, 2005
South Coast of UK
Nooooo, you dont do any of that, thats more like coldwater, like goldfish, you do water changes mainly to clean, you never really take anything out, especially the fish.

Leopardess

Everything's eventual.
Aug 13, 2003
New Hampshire Seacoast Area
Visit site
Welcome!
No, you never have to tear apart a tank like that unless you are moving it or doing a massive change/cleaning of the tank after 10 years or something.

You simply clean the gravel using a gravel vacuum that is syphon operated and remove 30-50% of the water a week. This is just a rough guideline, you may do a little more, or a little less, depending on what kind of fish you have and how many. More fish = more waste.