"floor plans"

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mindtonic

AC Members
Nov 15, 2004
Easton, PA
I'm planning on setting up my new 75 gallon as a planted tank. I'm almost finished saving the cash for the lights, substrate, and CO2 system, so I'm starting to think about what plants I want and how I should lay them out. I've never done a planted tank before, and I'm in love with the idea of a vibrantly planted tank, full of color and contrasts, but since I've never done it before, I'm not really sure how or where to begin.

I was wondering if anybody knows of any online sources or "how to" books that might offer planting suggestions for a plant this size--complete with what plants to buy and where they should be located in the tanks--a floor plan, if you will. I understand that originality will be thrown out the window, but with my first planted tank, I'd prefer it to be visually pleasing as opposed to a jumbled mess of random plants.

Thanks.

Mooch28

AC Members
Dec 24, 2004
Toronto (Brampton)
First thing, get the substrate right. 2 inches of flourite, then another 1-2 inches of what ever colour gravel you fancy. Or ofcourse, you could just go 3 inch of flourite, which is availible in two colours!

mindtonic

AC Members
Nov 15, 2004
Easton, PA
Thanks Mooch, I already earmarked the money for a full flourite substrate. I plan on using compressed CO2 and to have 2-3 wpg.

Any suggestions on the floor plan?

Harlock

Educated Idiot
Dec 15, 2004
San Angelo, TX
members.cox.net
The Aquatic Gardner's Association has some really nice entries from previous contests with accompanying layouts. The Showcase section begins here and their main page is located at this link. There are a lot of great photos there and keep in mind, a lot of those plants are fully matured and such, so you may try the same layout and it may look much thinner. Hope the Helps.

Blinky

Gone
Jun 22, 2004
Toronto, Canada