Proper Ph

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

JonTmw

AC Members
Feb 5, 2005
Hi all :troll: ,

newbie here...heard of a product name proper ph...does it has any side effect??? Heard is a true buffer for ph, but doesn't really know what it mean, can anyone pls enlighten me??? :dance

Thanks

toked

must...get....more...
Jan 7, 2005
Tampa, FL
www.own-age.com
hello..

I've been using proper ph for awhile now. since the ph out of my tap is relatively neutral i want it to be higher. on my larger tanks it does a great job of buffering to keep the ph at the same level. no side effects that i have noticed.

Kasakato

SatCan
Sep 24, 2004
Toronto, Canada
Proper pH or any chemical to change your pH is NOT GOOD! It might change the pH when you put it in but after it wears off (~30 Min) the pH goes back to what it was before. This change over and over can stress and then kill your fish. There was a trend here a few days ago about a fish dying and it was due to the use of proper pH.
*A stable pH is better than a perfect pH*

There are ways to change the pH with out using chemicals. Like peat to lower it and ocean gravel stuff (not sure exactly what it is) to make the ph higher.

Fish can also live in a different pH than they should normaly be living in, as long as there isent a huge gap.

If you could post the pH of: your tank, and the pH of a glass of tap water after it has been sitting for 24 hours, we can tell you what you need to do.

acefred

AC Members
Dec 26, 2004
Kasakato said:
Proper pH or any chemical to change your pH is NOT GOOD! It might change the pH when you put it in but after it wears off (~30 Min) the pH goes back to what it was before. This change over and over can stress and then kill your fish. There was a trend here a few days ago about a fish dying and it was due to the use of proper pH.
*A stable pH is better than a perfect pH*