Breeding Convict's

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Forum221

AC Members
Dec 19, 2002
Naperville, Il
Visit site
Hey,
I am new to breeding cichlids and i was hoping to breed a pair of convict cichlids. but i don't have any expierence with them. I have been reading alot about them lately but when I head to my LFS they never have any in so I have to look around for a pair of them. I was wondering if anyone was any good advice for me about breeding them. I have a cycled 20 long tank with a few carved rainbow rocks and some flat grey slate in it. It also has a few fake plants. I'm planning on adding some clay pots for the convicts to breed in. For filteration i have a Bio wheel 170 and and UnderGravel filter. I have the temp at about 82f. I was wondering if I have the right conditions and i would need some help on sexing. I think that the male are less colored and the famales have verticle stripes? Please all of the info on breeding and rasing the fry that you have.

Thanks

O-man21

30 FW, 6 SW, 2.5 SW
Dec 3, 2002
Des Moines, IA
ok

As said with the name..they have black and white vertical bands on there body.."convicts" both sexs do. second..IMO..your gonna need more filtration then that for convicts.. third...they are CONSTANT breeders...wose then guppies almost..and they have 50-350 babies per litter...
Sexing
males have red on stomach...I think..ok I'm just gonna shut-up..I can't help with the sexing.
Anyways.. the tanks sounds fine for a pair..do you have any other fish in it? if you do..I'd take them out.
It sounds like i hate convicts..I don't I actually think there very pretty. but I don't like have that many babies that often..
as my LFS owner once said "I've had people dump buckets at my door and run...the buckets had baby convicts in them.."

Forum221

AC Members
Dec 19, 2002
Naperville, Il
Visit site